Dinner at Tsuru Sushi Cafe

This weekend, Cameron took me out for dinner to celebrate me finishing exam block for the semester (woo hoo- only one semester left until I graduate!).  We went to the newly opened Tsuru Sushi Cafe in Manly West, QLD.  The whole experience- food, atmosphere, and price- was amazing.


I was still recovering from a bad cold, and really just wanted to grab food, take it home, and binge-watch ‘Orange is the New Black’… But when we got to the restaurant, the staff were so friendly that I decided to suck it up and enjoy myself.  We started with a cocktail each…

Cameron had a ‘Dragon Ball- Z’ Sake Martini (of course…), which was an interesting combination of sake, fruit juice, and a lychee ‘dragon ball’.  I had the ‘Pineapple Express’ Sake martini, which was just a pineapple, orange, and sake mix with salt on the rim of the glass.  I was so excited that I completely forgot to take a photo- this blogging thing is hard! haha.

Next, we each had a miso soup.  I really cannot think of anything better than miso soup when you’re feeling unwell.  The combination of the heat, salt, and seaweed is just perfect for a cold.  The miso at Tsuru cafe was a really generous portion, and was only $3.00.

For the mains, Cameron ordered a Miso Ramen Noodle Soup- which had ramen noodles, egg, and chicken.  Although this was basically just a fancy chicken noodle soup, Cam really enjoyed it.  He said it made him feel like the anime character ‘Naruto’… Riiiiight Cameron.

ramenCameron is not very good with taking photos- so here is the photo of what he had from the menu.

I had the Veggie & Tofu Yaki Soba Noodles.  This was delicious!!  It was a gigantic portion of buckwheat noodles, mixed veggies, and an interestingly cooked tofu- I think it might have been fried.    photo 3This was SO good.  I tried to stop so that I could have leftovers for lunch, but… I couldn’t.

FINALLY, we each finished the meal with an espresso each.  Tsuru has a fairly unique philosophy on coffee in that they worked closely with Bellissimo Coffee to develop their own Tsuru House Blend coffee beans.  The espresso was rich and dark in flavour, and the absolute perfect temperature for drinking immediately.  We couldn’t believe we were having such delicious coffee from a sushi cafe.
Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 10.03.17 am


All in all, it was a great night.  I have been to Tsuru a couple times before for a couple takeaway sushi rolls, but this was my first time dining in.  I’ll definitely be back, and I’m so glad there is a restaurant nearby that I can get ‘authentic’ style Japanese food.  Next time, I’m trying the Japanese pancakes!

Goal for next blog post- take better photos!  Eeek.

xo Karly

 

Leave a Reply

